Bomb in Space?

Published January 24, 2010 by Hemlock

We’ve played STO for a few weeks now, and I can say that I’m not overly impressed. It’s playing very similar to City of Heroes/Villans. There’s not much draw, and I really did expect more. Open Beta has been pretty buggy, but at the same time Cryptic has done a pretty good job of fixing major bugs. This is the last weekend to play before the close Open Beta, apply fixes and patches, and then go live on February 2nd.

I really do understand that this is a Beta, but I still can’t help but feel a bit gipped. This game has so much potential, and has been in the works since 2004, but it really has fallen flat. I enjoy the space combat, but at the same time it is painfully repetitive. Mind you, all MMO’s are like this, but I just don’t feel the addiction that I did with the original EverQuest, Star Wars Galaxies, and World of Warcraft. Each of these games had some very viable redeeming qualities amid the monotony, and though not all of them are as popular as they once were (except for WoW) they were still worth playing when they were the game to have.

STO tries desperately to immerse the player in the Star Trek universe, but fails in a few areas. My biggest complaint is how long it takes a ship to respond. Anyone at all familiar with the series knows that despite the ships being large objects, they are still capable of maneuvering, and in the game they aren’t. Granted, you have an ability called Evasive Action, but it has a long refresh rate and I guess could be equated to a character’s ground sprint. When using that ability, your ship moves more like you expect, and you truly have the ability to maneuver out of the path of Photon and Quantum torpedos. Mind you, I’m not saying that all ships should have the ability for insane maneuverability, but seriously, it shouldn’t take me 30 seconds to turn around.

I don’t know, maybe I’m just being overly picky, and mayhap things will change once the game goes live. Then again, maybe I’ll be renewing my subscription to WoW?

One comment on “Bomb in Space?

  • Leave a Reply

