Puppies

Published January 24, 2010 by Hemlock

I don’t care what anyone says. Puppies are harder than human kids. End of story.

Gaius has found a new home with a quiet and patient couple. It’s best for him, and it’s best for us. I believe he will finally have the opportunity to really bloom and be the amazing dog that I know he is. Due to this, Sen is now on her own for the first time and so far seems to be doing well. We don’t have her crated in the bedroom like I’d like, but compromises must be made. The kitchen has become a play pen, sans bed, and her crate is now in the back room with the bird and the cat tree.

Training has begun in earnest. She’s a smart puppy, but has quite a bit of energy and it’s hard to get to her to calm down enough to focus even a little. She’s not like one of those puppies you see in the YouTube training videos. You know the ones I’m talking about; the ones that seem to have an attention span equal to the Dalai Lama’s. No… no, that’s not Sen. Not in the least. What’s funny, is that I know she can be freakishly calm, but it seems that when it comes to training she gets excited (gotta love crispy hot dog chunks) and just can’t focus!

She knows how to sit on command and she’s reliable as long as it’s me giving the command. We’re learning how to lie down, and to come more reliable when called. The only problem we’re really having, aside from the excitement, is that she doesn’t want to go into her crate. As soon as I head to the back room, she runs the other direction. I know she doesn’t want to be alone, but Hubby doesn’t want another crate in the bedroom. I don’t blame him, but at the same time, I really don’t want the crate to be a negative thing. I guess I’ll just have to work on that with her as well!

Leave a Reply

