Exercise Week 1-ish Check In

Published July 25, 2010 by Hemlock

Alright, so week one closed out nicely, but I have to admit that I’ve fallen off the wagon a bit on the exercising. I had to take a few days off due to a new medication the doctor put me on. I didn’t respond well, and felt like I had the stomach flu for quite a few days. I’m feeling better, now, and intend to get going again this week.

I went to the Chiropractor on Friday, and he apparently noticed that I had lost some weight. I admit, I was quite excited by this, and it put a smile on my face for the rest of the day.

I went home later, and though I didn’t get measurements, I was able to get a weight, and I’m down to 126lbs. I know it’s a bit much for the first week, but I figure between trying to eat healthier and feeling so ill, that I really wasn’t eating as much as I should have. I think this accounts for most of the weight loss – not the exercising. But I don’t know for sure.

I have noticed that my appetite has decreased significantly, and this is something for me to keep an eye on. As a recovering anorexic (my version of Anorexia Nevosa is actually the originally diagnosed disorder that didn’t have anything to do with body image or weight. Instead, it’s the body’s reaction to stress. When I stress out, I don’t eat because I feel so nauseous and sick. It becomes a huge, vicious circle of being stressed so you don’t eat, but then you feel sick from not eating so you don’t eat, but then begin to stress about the fact that you’re not eating and that you’re loosing weight). I never had to be hospitalized for it, but it was years of therapy and acupuncture to get me through it and it’s still something that I struggle with. I really have to make myself eat when I’m stressed, and those that know me well, will usually remind me that I need to eat something; even if it’s just a Snickers bar.

Anyways, I’m hoping to start getting out with the dog here pretty soon, and I also have some computer dvd’s? that a friend of mine let me borrow (Xannatos still hasn’t gotten that taken care of for me) and I’m excited to see how those work out.

So, here’s to getting back on the boat! CHEERS!!!

One comment on “Exercise Week 1-ish Check In

  • Leave a Reply

