Fable 3: Early Review

Published October 27, 2010 by Hemlock

Okay, Fable 3 was released yesterday, and I must say, I was very excited. This was my birthday present, so Xannatos got me the Limited Collectors Edition. This came with an extra quest, a new dog breed (mine was not the one originally spoken about in all the ‘official’ releases I had been seeing), and various other things like a new town, some tattoos, and a sword. OH! It also came with a really cool deck of Fable themed playing cards that don’t feel cheap and flimsy, and a Guild coin that’s actually made of metal. You heard me right, metal, not plastic. Take that Star Trek Online!

How is the game so far? Not bad, but a little frustrating. The art is pretty much the same, though the female character option has breasts the size of most of the villagers heads. Normally, I wouldn’t complain, except for the part that she’s wholly unbalanced and has a flat body-builder-type booty. Oh well, small price to pay.

What was really getting me, though, was some of the features they’ve taken out of the game. It might be that I simply haven’t gotten far enough into the game to discover these things, but it’s making the game a bit onerous to travel about in.

First of all, for those of you who have downloadable content, such as the stuff from your Collectors Editions, let me tell you that it’s all there as long as you redeemed your codes. You won’t, however, see your items (like your new dog breed) until you get into the first town of Brightwater (pretty sure that’s the name of the town). Wish they had said something because I was quite upset before we discovered that.

Secondly, there’s no easy way to manage travel anymore. There’s no button that is set to your map or town business/economy. Nope, each time you want to look at a town, or fast travel somewhere you have to push your start button which then transports you to The Sanctuary. Once that page has loaded, you have the option to check out your clothing, weapons, take a look at your map which is now a giant war table, and see various other features available in the game. This is also the location you go to in order to see and open any gifts given to you by the villagers and Microsoft Live buddies.

This really bothers me, as instead of simply pushing a button to see my map, I now have to load an entirely new location. It’s awkward and time consuming.

What bothers me the most, though, is that I can’t for the life of me figure out where my health bar is! This is crucially important, and leads to my last complaint: the instruction manual leaves a bit to be desired. I’ve been through that manual quite a few times and nowhere does it explain your HUD/Screen. Nope, so during battle, I’ve just been popping food and/or potions when they pop up on the screen. I don’t know if I really need them or not, but since I can’t see the damn health bar, I don’t really have any other options.

Hopefully, someone who has played a bit further into the game than I have (this should be easy, I’m not that far in), will comment on my blog post and let me know they’ve discovered where the health bar is located.

Overall, though, considering how much I enjoyed Fable 2, I think it’s well worth suffering through what I would consider a design mess. I may have a different opinion later on, but right now, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Leave a Reply

