Grammar Nazi? Yes, most likely.

Published November 9, 2010 by Hemlock

Tonight, I discovered that it is possible to overuse italics,bolds, CAPS, and any combination of the three.

I read a blog tonight that made it onto Freshly Pressed. It looked interesting at first, but as I read further in I found that something about this writer reminded me about some highschool ditz from the Valley. I’m serious. It finally dawned on me, about halfway through, that the cause for this was her overt use of CAPS, italics, an bolds. I kid you not that there was one of the three, if not all three, in a single sentence; and often times they occurred multiple times.

I was even more horrified when I discovered that she is a journalist. I hope to God that she doesn’t write her articles the way she writes her blog posts. If she does, then her editor(s) really needs to take a look at themselves and make sure they know what they’re doing.

I would probably consider myself a Grammar Nazi, but I’m not obsessive about it. Yes, some things really bug me, and I will correct it if I see it. However, I try not to offer unsolicited advice and corrections. It’s just not my place. Ask for my help, and I’ll give it gladly.

It just really bugged me to see that this girl clearly thought it was ok to write like that. I mean, one of the first things you learn about writing and voice is that CAPS, italics, and bold are used as ephasis only and that they can be overused; particularly CAPS and bolds as they are very aggressive.

Dunno if I’m just overreacting, but I feel that it’s important to consider these things from the simple fact that if they become habitually overused they begin to lose their meaning and that is not ok at all.

4 comments on “Grammar Nazi? Yes, most likely.

  • Leave a Reply

