The Sexualization of Children

Published November 11, 2010 by Hemlock

I stumbled across another article today on MSN titled: More Trouble for Amazon, This Time With Photos. Went through and read it, and to be frank, yes, this probably borders on the not so okay. Basically, some images and films were being sold under the guise of Naturist Video. Okay, the Naturist movement exists, and I would love to be a part of it. Really, I would. I freely admit that I love going to the nudie beaches. They’re fun, they’re quiet, and they’re relaxing. I’m okay with my body, it’s not perfect, and that’s okay. I’m not obese, not grossly overweight, but I could stand to lose a few pounds. No one judges me, and no one looks at me in a sexual manner. Being naked is fun… nothing quite like the feel of the sun caressing your whole body.

Do I intend to let my children run around without their diaper at the beach? Hell yes! I have yet to meet a kid who prefers to be clothed. That being said, I won’t be taking video.

The article goes on to say that the real concern is that children are being sexualized in the videos and images that are being released and due to that should be removed from circulation. What really got me, was that at the end, the child advocate (Maureen Flatley) they journalist spoke with mentions that, “We’ve allowed kids to become sex objects and let a major retailer commercialize this stuff.”

If that’s the case… isn’t it the parents who actively allow their children to pursue beauty pageants guilty of this? How many little girls do you see on the pageant circuit that actually look like children? Absolutely none of them. They’re all dressed in stuff that sexualizes them in some form or another; they even have swimsuit portions!

How is it, then, any different from the Nudist images? Frankly, I think things are a bit more sexual when a person is clothed versus naked. It’s more erotic.

One comment on “The Sexualization of Children

  • I’m finally getting around on reading all your post that you’ve written. And I must say I am very proud of this article. You captured my attention by talking about yourself and then made me read about this very important news. You make me smile every time I read your articles.

  • Leave a Reply

