Il dolce far niente

Published December 6, 2010 by Hemlock

I’m going to start this blog out by saying: Everyone needs a break sometimes.

Sometimes life just gets the better of you, and you need a break. When we’re kids, we’re in such a hurry to grow up and take on the responsibility of being an adult. By the time we get there, though, and the innocence has worn off, life seems to have us in a stranglehold.

It starts out easy, for many, but not all. Some of us just seem to come out of the gate running, and others need a good push. However, at some point, Life gets us all.

The littlest things become huge, and the big things become insurmountable.

I often wonder if it’s only us Americans who seem to be living the rat race. We’re always pushing to get things done, and to simply survive. I mean, think about it. We spend at least 40 hours a week away from home and family, only to come home and work some more. We have laundry to do, we need to cook for our families, clean our homes, do our schoolwork, and so many other things. On the weekends, we may catch an extra hour or two to ourselves, but in the end, we’re still just doing chores. Only very rarely do we take the time to simply enjoy living.

What matters in life is family, friends, food, video games, self, and peace. It’s a simple list, but those really are the only things that matter. To me at least. I’m sure that everyone’s list is different, and I’m sure that some people will say it’s not long enough. You know what, though? Sometimes we let our list get too big, and we simply are unable to do it justice.

We can be part of the rat race, and work those 40+ hours a week, and justify it by saying we’re fulfilling our lives by caring for our family and friends, but the reality of the matter, is how long has it been that you simply enjoyed their company? That’s why family and friends are on my list. Do I enjoy feeding people? Yes, but what matters is the love and companionship. Some of the best moments of my life are those where I simply sat on my couch with my husband as he played some scary video game, and I did nothing more than enjoy the warmth of his body as I snuggled against him and offered up the concessional screech as something jumped out at us from the shadows.

Those are the simple things in life I’m talking about.

One comment on “Il dolce far niente

  • Leave a Reply

