I Have A Confession…

Published January 8, 2011 by Hemlock

I finally converted.

That’s right folks! I am now the proud owner of not a Kindle, or a Nook. No, Sir! I own a Kobo! Xannatos and I have been holding out for quite a while now; particularly me. I’m an avid read and there’s really never a point when I don’t have a book with me. I’ve been that way since I was a kid, and I can honestly say that the happiest moments of my life are linked to the must smell of a book. To me, there’s no better smell in the world (aside from leather… but that’s a whole ‘nother post!). There’s something about the weight and smell of a book that just reminds me of home.

When I was growing up I was always surrounded by books. If I was at home, there were boxes and boxes of books to dig through. If I wasn’t at home, you could find me at the library after school or on the weekends. At school, if I wasn’t in class, I was at the school library or during Junior High School, you could catch me in Mr. Zachreson’s classroom perusing the bookshelf he had behind his desk.

As freaky as it is, the simple smell of books puts me immediately at ease. I guess you could say that I have a bit of an obsessive love affair.

The only problem with books is that they’re bulky, and when you’re already lugging around 15-20 pounds of textbook and laptop, that little paperback sure weighs a lot. Price was a deciding factor, but Hubby and I are known for not following the herd. Kobo is pretty independent, and frankly, it’s also freakishly hard to find accessories for, but so far I really like it.

I’m never going to give up tangible books, but I do have to say that this whole E-Reader thing is convenient.

3 comments on “I Have A Confession…

  • Hubby offered to get me a kindle for mother’s day (aka distract from miscarriage) last year, but I just couldn’t deal with the idea of not having the physical books. Maybe if I could have both? We are chronic book horders and have 3 six foot shelves and 3 smaller ones stalked full of books. It’s not enough. I’m sure I’ve put amazon’s kids though college already.

    • We’re the same way. We have tons of books in the house, and then in the garage we have loads and loads of boxes, and even more bookshelves.

      I think the e-reader is worth it, but I don’t think I’ll ever part with any of my ‘real’ books.

  • Leave a Reply

