What to do?

Published January 20, 2011 by Hemlock

I need to get back into shape… desperately. Xannatos and I went on a walk yesterday and took the dog down to the dog park. I don’t know how far it is one way… probably just under a mile, but I was so tired by the time we got back. I weighed myself yesterday, only to discover that I’d gone from about 132 pounds with clothes on to 140 pounds with just a damn towel on my head. All of this weight was acquired across the last two or so months. Not okay. Not at all.

Problem is, I don’t know where to start. Due to all the miscarriages, and the TTC and such, I find it hard to get started. Depending on where I am in my cycle, I don’t want to do anything too strenuous, but at the same time, I know that for me, walking just isn’t proactive enough. For example, a friend of mine gave me access to the P90X series, and from what my sister told me, it seriously kicks your ass. I’d also like to start running, but with my knee, I don’t know if that’ll be possible.

My biggest issue with all of this, is that I hate being stuck in the house. I really do. I’ve always been an active person; well, I was up until about eight years ago. However, I’ve never been one of those at-home-exercisers. I’ve always done something like Archery, Softball, Figure Skating, and anything horse related. This whole exercising at home thing is new to me, and seems incredibly boring. I don’t do bored well.

On top of that, article after article states that you shouldn’t do strenuous exercise while TTC or while pregnant. How the hell am I supposed to lose weight? I know, I know watch what I eat and drink more combined with low impact exercise should be enough. Not for me! It’s not active enough.

It’s almost as if I have only two modes: “Sedentary” or “Go, Go Go!” and neither one of these fits in my lifestyle anymore.

*sigh*

2 comments on “What to do?

  • Hey Sweetie,
    It’s got a very froofy reputation, but I think Yoga would be perfect for you. I started a month ago and it’s done wonders to strengthen my body, clear my mind, and get me moving again.
    Also – It’s all about opening up your hip and pelvic area, getting you connected to you body through breathing, and really strengthening your core – things that are great for TTC and pregnancy.
    Not to mention, it’ll get you out of the house! (that one I can really relate to).
    Before I started, I always thought it would bore the heck out of me, but surprisingly, it does wonders in terms of quieting my endless internal monologue. Maybe you should give it a try?

  • I don’t do boring well either and the only reason that I’ve been able to exercise every day is that I borrowed my mom’s stairmaster thingy and I use it as I watch my “b” quality TV shows. Kills two birds with one epic fantasy stone. I like getting out too, but that’s not much of an option for me right now (canadian winter). Till then I’m a fan of things I can do while watching TV.

    A socond on the yoga as well if you have the cash for classes.

  • Leave a Reply

