Expiration Dates

Published February 2, 2011 by Hemlock

When we did our IUI last year, we ordered a ton of Bravelle (about $2000 – $3000 worth). My insurance was covering everything, so I wasn’t worried and then my IUI was successful – sorta.  We opted to take a bit of a break after that miscarriage, and so when my medication came in, I put the box in my linen closet and promptly forgot about it.  We eventually decided to go a more natural route as each run with the reproductive endocrinologist, though successful in the pregnancy end of things, was getting less and less successful on the viable end of things.

Last night, for some reason that I can’t fathom, I decided to go check on my Bravelle with disastrous results.  It was prescribed to me in May of 2010 with an expiration date of November 2010.  What a crappy shelf life!  I mean, it’s not even mixed yet… it’s still in powdered form.  How can it possibly be expired already?!  I feel horrible to have all of this medication in my closet that I’m now, possibly, going to end up having to trash it.  I talked to my mother and she suggested calling the RE to see if it’s actually expired.  She said that a friend of hers, a cardiac surgeon, said that the expiry dates on medication is usually just ‘suggested’ and that they’re usually good for up to a year after the listed date.

So, I think I’ll call them and see what they say.  If they’re still good, I think I’ll figure out a way to donate them.  I’m sure that there’s someone out there that could use them, because chances are I won’t be.

2 comments on “Expiration Dates

  • Leave a Reply

